General News » Headline News » News

Candidate list for mayor, council, school board trustee starts to grow

May 12, 2022   ·   0 Comments

With the upcoming municipal elections across Ontario on October 24, 2022, candidates are beginning to throw their hats into the ring as they register to run for Council.

Potential candidates must have 25 signatures on the nomination form and pay a fee when submitting that form.

Nominations for municipal elections can be submitted from May 2, through to August 18.

Current New Tecumseth Mayor Rick Milne, has already stated he will not be running in the upcoming election.

New Tecumseth positions include mayor, deputy mayor, and eight councillors representing wards.

In the early going of the nomination process, the list of confirmed candidates include:


Richard Norcross – currently Deputy Mayor

Deputy Mayor

Stephanie MacLellan – currently Councilor, Ward 6

Ward 1

Wayne Noye – incumbent

Ward 2

Wendy Gabrek

Ward 3

Paul Foster – incumbent

Ward 4

No entries

Ward 5

Marc Biss

Ward 6

Nicole Cox

Ward 7

Shira Harrison McIntyre – incumbent

Ward 8

Alan Lacey – incumbent

Trustee, Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board

Janice Hutchison – incumbent

Trustee, Simcoe County District School Board

Sarah Beitz – incumbent

We will update the list as more names are added as candidates for the upcoming election.

By Brian Lockhart


Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support