Feature articles » Featured » General News » News

New Tec Awards presented during Canada Day celebrations, five honoured

July 12, 2019   ·   0 Comments

By Wendy Gabrek

The Town of New Tecumseth recognized five outstanding citizens for their contributions to the community during Canada Day celebrations at the New Tecumseth Recreation Complex on July 1.

• Senior Volunteer Award

 The Senior of the Year Award is presented to a New Tecumseth senior resident (aged 65-plus) who has contributed service of significant impact to one or more of: the arts; literature; community service; voluntarism; education; fitness and sport; humanitarian activities.

2019 Award Winner

Sharron Smith

“It is a pleasure to present Mrs. Sharron Smith with the Provincial 2019 Senior of the Year Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to our community after age 65,” said Town of New Tecumseth Mayor Rick Milne. “Since Sharron has retired from her career as a Registered Nurse, she has given countless volunteer hours to our community. She shared her talents with youngsters volunteering at the Early Years Centre for a number of years. She has sponsored a Syrian family and helped them adjust to our community. Sharron is currently a member of the Grandmothers to Grandmothers and shares her time reading to young children at a local school. It is a pleasure to present this prestigious award to you, Sharron. Thank you and congratulations.”

• Youth Volunteer Awards

Youth volunteers in New Tecumseth, aged 15 to 24 years-old can be honoured with the Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers. This medal recognizes the outstanding contributions of young volunteers in Ontario who have volunteered for a large amount of time with a charity, not-for-profit or person and are a role model for other young people and inspire them to volunteer.

2019 Award Winners

Emily Bruce

Aariana Lopes

“Today, we also honour and recognize a local youth for her outstanding contributions to our community. It is a pleasure to present Emily Bruce with the 2019 New Tecumseth Youth Award,” said Town of New Tecumseth Deputy Mayor Richard Norcross. “Emily, a St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School student, has volunteered more than 735 hours of community service, most of which was helping with a youth group, a choir and at a dance studio. Emily, thank you for your dedication to our community.”

“Second, we would like to honour Aariana Lopes with the 2019 New Tecumseth Youth Award. Aariana, a Banting Memorial High School student has volunteered more than 845 hours of community service, most of which was helping with Stevenson Memorial Hospital, Matthews House, Camp Mansfield and a Dance studio. Aariana, thank you for your dedication to our community,” said Mayor Milne.

• Virtual Wall of Honour Awards

Established in 2016, the New Tecumseth Virtual Wall of Honour celebrates those who have made outstanding contributions within the town each year. Inductees are published on this page and are celebrated during Canada Day celebrations.

Criteria for nominees are: A resident of the Town of New Tecumseth; Deemed to be of great importance to the community; or significantly contributed to the Town through their voluntary service; or had a positive impact on the citizens of New Tecumseth and made the community a better place.

2019 Award Winners

Mary Elizabeth Tomlinson Anderson

Ralph Wilding

“This year, we are pleased to announce that we have two award recipients this year – the late Mary Elizabeth Tomlinson Anderson, also known as Betty Anderson, and the late Ralph Wilding.

Thank you to Ms. Anderson’s and Mr. Wilding’s family members who are here with us today to celebrate this announcement and recognition for each of their many contributions to our community.

“Mrs. Anderson was an author and broadcasting pioneer who moved to the New Tecumseth area with her husband in the 1970s. She was the first woman to anchor a nationally broadcast radio program. 

Well known for her volunteer contributions, Betty was a strong supporter of local history and the arts. She was a long-time member and former President of the Tecumseth and West Gwillimbury Historical Society. She was inducted into the Museum on the Boyne’s Wall of Honour for her contributions to the preservation of our community’s heritage.

“Being an artist, Betty was one of the founding members of the New Tecumseth and Area Arts Council – now called the South Simcoe Arts Council.

“Mrs. Anderson founded the Tottenham Concert Goers and the New Tecumseth Ratepayers Association.  It is a pleasure to welcome Mrs. Anderson into the Town of  New Tecumseth’s Virtual Wall of Honour.”

“Today, we would also like to recognize another deserving recipient of this year’s Virtual Wall of Honour Award is the late Mr. Ralph Wilding. Many of you may remember Ralph as our Town Crier, a position he held for many years. As Town Crier, Ralph attended many special community events to help announce and celebrate local events. He was also a member of the Tottenham Lions Club and was very supportive of many community groups.Mr. Wilding was inducted into the Museum on the Boyne’s  Wall of Honour for his contributions to our community’s heritage.”

For more information about, or to nominate a future recipient, contact the Town of New Tecumseth, Office of the Clerk, at 705 435-3900 or 905 729-0057 ext. 5001.


Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support