Headline News

Norcross elected mayor of New Tecumseth

October 28, 2022   ·   0 Comments

By Brian Lockhart

Residents of New Tecumseth will see several new faces on Town Council at its next meeting, with a new mayor, deputy mayor, and five first time councillors elected during the municipal election on Monday (Oct. 24).

While the election had a dismal voter turnout at 34.23 per cent, those votes have determined who will run the town and make the big decisions over the next four years.

The total number ballots cast was 10,708.

Deputy mayor and former councillor Richard Norcross was elected as mayor with 39.79 per cent of the vote, after 4,217 votes were cast. Councillor Donna Jebb who also ran for mayor, received 3,903 votes, while Tony Veltri received 2,478 votes.

Councillor Stephanie MacLellan has been elected as deputy mayor receiving 49.57 per cent of the vote.

In Ward 1, Chris Rapin was elected with 51.15 per cent of the vote, defeating incumbent, Wayne Noye.

In Ward 2, Wendy Gabrek was elected with 45.83 percent of the vote. This will be her first time on council.

Incumbent, Paul Foster has retained his seat in Ward 3 with 54.95 per cent of the vote.

In Ward 4, newcomer Alan Masters was elected with 56.23 per cent.

Marc Biss has been elected to represent Ward 5. He received 38.13 per cent of the vote.

In Ward 6, Nicole Cox came out on top with 53.63 per cent of the vote.

Incumbent Shira Harrison McIntyre retained her seat with 35.66 per cent.

In Ward 8, Andrea Jacks defeated incumbent, Alan Lacey, with 56.30 per cent of the vote.

Here is a breakdown of the numbers of the 2022 New Tecumseth Municipal election:

Mayor                            Votes

Richard Norcross                        4217

Donna Jebb                                 3903

Tony Veltri                                    2478

Deputy Mayor

Stephanie MacLellan               5159

Michael Beattie                         4203

David Ghobrial                          1045

Ward 1

Chris Rapin                                737

Wayne Noye (incumbent)       322

Terrina Williams                       232

John C. Miller                           108

Aemelia O’Callaghan                42

Ward 2

Wendy Gabrek                       484

Jason Bowers                          332

Robert Clements                    166

Jaison Waldman                       74

Ward 3

Paul Foster (Incumbent)      649

Laurie Mortimer                    532

Ward 4

Alan Masters                        889

Ashlie Drake                        692

Ward 5

Marc Biss                             355

Tony Phekoo                      313

Mike Williams                     263

Ward 6

Nicole Cox                           781

Douglas Kowalinski            592

Brandon Kyte                        83

Ward 7

Shira Harrison McIntyre  536


Joe Feiner                           413

Guy Bonney                        408

Peter Barbati                      146

Ward 8

Andrea Jacks                   777

Alan Lacey (Incumbent) 336

Jess Prothero                   267


Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support